Sanford's Dennis Thiessen gets call to curling hall

Sanford‘s Dennis Thiessen will be inducted into Canada’s Curling Hall Of Fame.

Thiessen is the only curler set for induction in the class of 2019, joining Jules Owchar (coach), Dave Petursson (umpire), Rae Kells (umpire), Dave Parkes (builder), and Terry Jones (media).

Thiessen completed the triple crown of wheelchair curling, winning the Canadian, World and Paralympic titles.

“When I got the phone call for this, I was just absolutely speechless; I had to ask if they had the right Dennis Thiessen,” he said in a media release.

“But as I think back over the years, I really I have to say that this wouldn’t have been possible without the support of some amazing people, beginning with my family, who allowed me to chase these dreams. As well, I’ve had amazing teammates and coaches, and I’m proud to share this honour with them.”

READ MORE: Manitoba’s golden Paralympian welcomed home

Thiessen is a three-time Canadian champion. He won the national championship as a vice-skip in 2011, and skipped Team Manitoba to victories in 2014 and 2017.

WATCH: Manitoban brings home curling gold

He also owns two Paralympic medals. Thiessen was vice-skip for Canada as they won the gold medal at the 2014 Winter Games in Sochi, Russia and brought home a Paralympic bronze medal from Pyeongchang, South Korea in 2018.

Thiessen was also a world champion in 2013.

READ MORE: Canada’s Paralympic gold in wheelchair curling marks historic trifecta

Thiessen will be inducted in an on-ice ceremony during the Brier in Brandon.

© 2019 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories